Apple plans to end the My Photo Stream service on July 26, 2023, the company said. This free service has been available since the 2011 iCloud release. You can use My Photo Stream to upload up to 1,000 images and videos from the last 30 days from your Apple device to iCloud. My Photo Stream has been around for some time, giving Apple users a way to access their images and video clips on multiple devices. Specifically, content uploaded to iCloud through My Photo Stream isn’t stored at full resolution, but it doesn’t count against your iCloud storage limit.
In the supporting documentation found by According to Apple, My Photo Stream will stop automatically uploading photos to the company’s servers on June 26, 2023, at which point photos and videos will be available for 30 days until the official shutdown on July 26. It will remain on iCloud for days. All images and videos uploaded to iCloud through My Photo Stream are stored in their original format and resolution on at least one of his Apple devices, so no precious memories are lost as part of the shutdown process. is not. However, if you want to access a particular image on a particular device, Apple recommends saving the image to that device’s photo library by his July 26th.
On iPhone and iPad, you can save images from My Photo Stream by opening the Photos app, navigating to the My Photo Stream album, selecting the photos you want to save, and tapping the Share button to save them to your library. “iCloud Photos is the best way to keep your photos and videos up-to-date across all your devices and securely stored in iCloud,” Apple says at the end of its support document.
All products recommended by Engadget are selected by an editorial team independent of the parent company. Some articles contain affiliate links. When you purchase something through one of these links, we may earn affiliate commissions. All prices are correct at time of publication.