How to reset your phone before you sell it


Whether you are looking for buy a new iPhone or you have your eye on one of the best android phones, you need to clean your old phone before you can sell or pass it on. Your old phone is probably filled with precious memories, so be sure to back them up or transfer everything (mostly photos) before following this guide to reset it.

There are different ways to trade in or sell your old iPhone or android phone, but first you need to wipe it properly. It’s not just late-night texts or embarrassing selfies that fall into the wrong hands; failing to do a factory reset could end up in a painful world. If you don’t log out and delete accounts properly, you might miss new incoming messages, and factory reset protection on Android phones can lock out buyers even after the device is erased.

How to factory reset your iPhone

Before doing anything else back up your iPhone. Then it is a good idea to dissociate your Apple watch if you have one. You can do this in the Watch app on your iPhone by going to the My watch tab, press All watches, and choose the info button next to the watch you want to unpair before pressing Unpair Apple Watch.

To avoid any missing message if you are planning to switch from iPhone to Android, dive into Settings> Messages, and turn off iMessage. Once done, remove the SIM card from your iPhone.

Go to Settings and tap your name, then iCloud, and scroll down to turn off Find my iphone. Tap Apple ID at the top left to go back, and scroll down to press Sign out. You will need to enter your password and press Sign out again.

You are now ready to erase iPhone. Go to Settings > General > Reset > Clear all content and settings. You will be prompted to confirm, and it may take a few minutes to complete the process.

How to factory reset your Android phone

Starts with backup your android phone, then remove all MicroSD cards and your SIM card.

Android has an anti-theft measure called Factory Reset Protection (FRP). This means that even after erasing an Android phone, you need the last Google account login to set it up again. You will need to disable FRP properly. Go to Settings > security > Screen lock, and set it to Nothing.

The next step is to delete your Google account, but we recommend that you delete all of your accounts at the same time. You can do this in Settings by pressing Accounts. Select each in turn and press Delete account.

You can now erase the Android phone, but this process is slightly different depending on who made your phone. On a Google pixel, for example, go to Settings > System > Advanced, and choose Reset options, then Delete all data (return to factory settings). On a Samsung galaxy s21, go to Settings > Executive management > Reset, and choose Factory data reset before you scroll down and tap Reset and delete all.

That’s it. Your device is ready for the next phase of its life. Here are some ideas on what to do with your old phone. You can even try to configure it as a security camera!


More great WIRED stories



Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *