How to send messages that disappear automatically


Most of the mysteries and spy movies are based on the premise that you can send self-destructing messages, but you don’t have to be an international secret agent to do the same with your own texts.

In fact, the most popular chat apps now include some sort of disappearing message feature, which means if you don’t want a permanent recording of your conversation, you don’t need to have one. In reality, Signal encrypted messaging app recently made its demise of the message function the failure.

While it’s handy to have chat archives to flip to for sentimental and practical reasons (recipes, addresses, directions, etc.), there are other times when you’d prefer nothing to be saved. Here is what to do.

There is a caveat here for all of these apps, that people you communicate with can take screenshots of what you have said or, if screenshots are blocked, can take screenshots. photo of the screen with another device. Some of them promise to let you know if your messages have been captured or downloaded, but there is always a workaround. This is something to keep in mind when choosing who to chat with and how much to share.

Signal

The disappearing messages feature in Signal is an option for every conversation you have, and it is now available by default, or by an individual conversation: you can switch between disappearing messages and permanent messages at any time in no time. any thread. To do this, tap the three dots (top right) in any thread, and then select Messages that disappear.

You can choose between 1 second and 4 weeks for your messages to remain after they are read (or choose Off to turn off the feature). You can even set a custom timer if you prefer and don’t like any of the presets – you can say a message is gone in 60 seconds. An alert appears in the chat whenever you change this setting, and anything you send from that point on follows the rules you set.

To set a default expiration time for messages in all your chats, open the main app settings page and choose Privacy and Default timer for new chats (under Messages that disappear). This applies to every chat you start from that point on, not existing conversations on your phone.

WhatsApp

WhatsApp disappearance messages only work with pictures and videos rather than text, for now. The recipient has 14 days to see everything you sent them, and they disappear as soon as they are seen.

From WhatsApp, open the conversation you want to send the photo or video clip to, tap the camera icon at the bottom, and then capture your content. You will see a small icon showing a 1 in a circle, next to the green send icon: tap it to make your message a disappearing image or video.

You can include a caption with the photo or clip, which disappears with it. Once you’ve uploaded what it is, you won’t see it on your end – you’ll only see a photo or video entry in the conversation thread, with the little 1 icon next to it. The text will become Open once it has been viewed.

Snapchat

Snapchat didn’t invent messages that disappear, but it certainly helped popularize them. From the main screen of your conversation list, you can tap any contact to start a conversation, or tap the compose icon (top right) if the person you want to talk to is not. is not on the screen.

Anything in the feed, including text and images, will disappear once viewed. Either party of a one-on-one conversation can choose to record something permanently by tapping and holding it, but you will be able to see if that happens because it will stay on. the screen.



Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *