Nigeria restricts visitors from India, Brazil and Turkey on COVID | News on the coronavirus pandemic

Nigeria will ban entry to non-Nigerian passengers who have traveled to India, Brazil and Turkey in the past two weeks due to concerns about the rapid spread of the coronavirus in those three countries.

The travel ban announced on Sunday does not apply to passengers who have passed through those countries, Nigeria’s presidential COVID-19 steering committee said in a statement.

“These precautionary measures are a necessary step to minimize the risk of an outbreak of COVID-19 cases introduced to Nigeria from other countries,” he said.

Nigerians and permanent residents who have been in these countries for the past 14 days will be subject to mandatory quarantine for one week at a government-approved facility upon arrival.

All passengers arriving in Nigeria will now be required to present a negative COVID-19 test passed within 72 hours of travel instead of the previous 96-hour period.

Nigeria, Africa’s most populous country, has reported more than 165,000 coronavirus cases and 2,060 deaths since COVID-19 emerged in China at the end of 2019.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *